Build Projects follow along start to finish

1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 68 (permalink) Old Nov 22nd, 14, 05:10 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team
Jim Erlend

68' restoration - My first - Tips needed

Hello there!

I am in the middle of restoring my 68' Camaro. And since this is my first time restoring a car, and with my 22 years in this world, I have just about no experience with this. Especially with a project this big I thought it would be a good idea to post this here! So hopefully you will catch me doing something wrong. Since there is A LOT of Camaro gods over here You're awesome!

I've actually read just about every build thread on here, and learned a lot on the way! And lost a lot of sleep...So thanks for that

The plan for this winter was to pull the interior to install the Dynamats. As you can see things didn't go according to plan Well...the interior is out though.

The new plan is a lot more fun...and expensive

-Restore it to perfect condition
-Paint and shine my old 396 engine.
-Ridetech front suspension with coilovers, and rack and pinion.
-Ridetech 4-link in the back.
-Paint it a really dark charcoal grey. Not sure to go with the chrome or not. If not, flat black all the way.
-And more new stuff.

I need a lot of tips on how to step forward with this. I got an idea on my own, and would like to hear your thoughts on what to replace, and in which order.

The car is now in the rotisserie, and I will weld in some braces before I start cutting anymore.

My plan is to cut out the main floor, and replace it. Just welding it at the rockers, and front. Leaving the trunk floor, and frame rails un-welded.