Team Camaro Tech banner

Tom Dosher’s 68 survivor

13K views 56 replies 21 participants last post by  SlaughterD 
#1 ·
Finally decided to get started are trying to get my late father in law, Tom Dosher’s 68 running after it sat in a garage without running for 25 years. I always wondered how he let it sit for so long. After a year of it sitting my garage, I realized who am I to judge. I’m a novice, done a tone of reading, including this site for over a year (I know it’s been over a year because the annual subscription just auto-renewed - best money I ever spent), and spoke with many people about the car.

I wanted to start a thread for the car to track its path back to road capable. The car 68 Z28, without the engine. Original colors are butternut yellow with pearl parchment but car is currently black lacquer with custom pearl parchment (very worn). Engine is tricked out.

Began tonight pulling the plugs and putting two teaspoons of mystery oil in each cylinder. Drained what was left in the radiator, carrot juice I think. Draining and replacing oil next. Will give a couple days to soak and then see if I can rotate the motor (with plugs still out).

I attached pics of the spark plugs. Most appear to be fouled w carbon. 2 appears normal and 4 close to normal. Looking at the intake, I’m wouldn’t think fouled plugs would be a surprise. But not sure why 2 would appear so different than the others?

Attachments

See less See more
#4 ·
It sure looks "80's" under the hood! Just the way Camaros did when I was in high school.

Watch out for stuck floats, cracked fuel lines, and that aluminum fan. Always have a fire extinguisher standing by on start ups like this. Let us know how it goes, video would be great.

#6 ·
Drained oil, all 7-8 quarts from the large oil pan. There is an odor of gas in the oil. Hopefully that is because mixture was too rich with the intake set up (evidenced by plugs and the varnish on the intake seen in the above photo)