My Vintage Air Install Notes - Team Camaro Tech
Tips & Tricks Member submited how-to's

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old Nov 8th, 11, 12:46 PM Thread Starter

My Vintage Air Install Notes

I'm sure my installation will differ from other people's but I thought I'd throw what I learned up on the forum for posterity.

This was my first Vintage Air install so I'm a novice. The car is a 1967 non-AC convertible. The front clip was off for engine swap, etc. I took the dash all apart so that I could repaint it after cutting vents in, install new firewall pad, and other things.

A one-line summary: of each of my findings is provided below. A full discussion of each follows.
  • Can get parts for inner fender well install with factory A/C balls, etc. directly from VA
  • Factory control panel pots are great
  • ECU is different for non-AC and AC-cars
  • Control panel sticker is lame
  • Need to re calibrate levers after every battery disconnect
  • Need to do something to tighten up OEM center vent
  • Buy new A/C center dash panel for OEM look
  • Astroball vents come with reducers to fit VA duct hose
  • Hard to cut A/C vent holes well and vents don't' sit entirely flush
  • Photocopy templates
  • Don't use template for upper mounting holes in cowl
  • Used studs for upper cowl mount
  • Welded firewall mounting bolt to bracket for easier install
  • Careful not to break drain hose fitting
  • Paint forward facing silver bolts/riviets black
  • Heater box can be installed over "blanking plate" for better look
  • Stick-on foam on defroster vents needs to be moved so not seen
  • Heater hose pipes must be cut or replaced
  • Used a straight fitting for large A/C hose
  • Comes with way more fittings than you need
  • Made my own kickpanel vent "hat" to house hoses and speaker
  • Can cover hoses with factory A/C kick panel
  • Heater flow control valve solenoid gets hot when energized