blowout welding - Team Camaro Tech
Tips & Tricks Member submited how-to's

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old Sep 26th, 13, 03:03 PM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member
Kenny

blowout welding

Why am I blowing a bigger hole than I'm trying to fill when I'm welding. I haven't started welding any pieces on yet but I'm plug welding some holes where I drilled out spot welds. Its not doing it every time but more than not. I'm using a Lincoln 140 mig welder and my settings are on A the lowest setting and my wire speed is at 3 to 4. I've tried adjusting every way I can but I get the same results. I might add I'm new to welding but I have been practicing. Oh and I am using Argon/CO2 and its set at about 22 l/min.
WTH?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old Sep 26th, 13, 04:07 PM
Senior Tech
Al

Re: blowout welding

Kenny, You're probably not moving the stinger fast enough. Start in the center of the hole and move outward in a circular manner. All surfaces need to be ground or sanded clean prior to welding. Also use the smallest diameter wire available for your welder. Clamp pieces tightly together. No substitute for practice/experience. Here's a You Tube video that might be helpful.

Al

my 67' build thread:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old Sep 26th, 13, 04:21 PM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member
Kenny

Thanks Al that will help when I start welding panels on, I'm filling in holes now where there is nothing behind what I'm welding, just the hole. Do my settings look ok.

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old Sep 26th, 13, 04:41 PM
Senior Tech
Al

Kenny, You need to backup the hole with a piece of copper. Do a Google search for welding spoon.

Al

my 67' build thread:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.