Ford Stealership Rant - Team Camaro Tech
Non-Camaro Tech Problems and Issues with your daily driver or other non-Camaro vehicles.

1Likes
  • 1 Post By jumpstart

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old Oct 15th, 16, 04:04 PM Thread Starter
John

Garage
Ford Stealership Rant

As a business owner I fully understand overhead and profit. I don't understand blatant gouging.

Wifes 2010 Ford Escape has been smelling of gas for a while. She took it to the dealer for a steering recall notice and I said while your there have them check on the gas smell.

Charged her $70 for diagnosis which I'm ok with.

The fuel pump was leaking at the plastic nipple where the fuel line connects (all plastic) Told her she needed a new fuel pump. $450 for the pump, $20 for the O-ring and $180 labor. Told her they had to drop the tank etc.

I bought the pump online for $160 with free shipping. O-ring was included.

Turns out you don't have to drop the tank as you simply lift up on the rear pass seat bottom and there is a carpet flap with a plastic snap in panel to access the pump. 2 hose connectors and 2 electric plugs that pull off by hand and a lock ring that holds the pump in.

Total time to R&R the pump 15 mins.

Feel sorry for the folks that don't know any better.

btw The dealer also told her she needed another $1200 work to her car. Coolant Exchange, Fuel System Cleaning, Transmission fluid exchange and new front brakes.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old Oct 15th, 16, 04:10 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
Steve

Re: Ford Stealership Rant

Do you get to go double or nothing in Vegas?

67RSSS......owned since 69. A basket case for most of it.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old Oct 15th, 16, 04:35 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
Jim

Garage

I feel your pain and that's why I never go to a dealer. I had to replace the fuel pump in my Escape and it was easy just like you said.

'68 RS

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old Oct 15th, 16, 05:07 PM
____

Garage