89 Camaro Starting Problems...Please Help I don't have a clue - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old Apr 5th, 09, 09:08 PM Thread Starter
CP

Exclamation 89 Camaro Starting Problems...Please Help I don't have a clue

Hey guys,

I'm new to this but I figure this is the best thing to do besides being charged an arm and a leg at a dealership.

Ok, I have an 89 camaro automatic with a V6 2.8L engine with about 55,000 miles on it. I go to crank it one day and I get nothing. What I mean is that it will turn over but it just will not crank. I checked the plugs to see if there was any spark and I replaced them, so they are brand new. I also replace the spark plug wires and the car still will not crank, it just makes the same sound. I checked to see if fuel was getting to the engine and that checked out. I charged my battery up and the turn over process was much faster but it still did not crank. After a while, I tried cranking and it would turn over and then I would hear a POP and it would continue to turn over but still no crank. CAN SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME ON THIS PROBLEM. I don't know what to do, and I really need to be driving soon!

Thanks
CP
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 (permalink) Old Apr 6th, 09, 06:00 AM
Super Moderator
Bess-68's rule

Garage
Re: 89 Camaro Starting Problems...Please Help I don't have a clue

Need alittle more history.
You bought this car recently and at one point, it ran good?
Did this problem come on gradually or overnight?
Were the spark plugs wet with fuel?
Use a timing light to see if it flashs during cranking - good spark.
Is the spark at the right time - look at the timing marks while cranking?

As a learning suggestion, you might buy a Haynes manual for this model of car and read up. Better than nothing.

Give a man a rescued dog for the health of both their souls. May 2017 ROTM Winner - Thank you!
'