Engine "knock" or "ping"??? - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old Apr 6th, 10, 07:38 AM Thread Starter
Joe

Engine "knock" or "ping"???

My 67 seems to be performing just fine, but I can hear a slight "knock", "click" or "ping" coming from the motor. I have owned this vehicle for 6 months and it's my first classic car. I am not a mechanic at all. What should I do? Please help!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old Apr 6th, 10, 07:47 AM
Gold Lifetime Member
Skip

Re: engine "knock" or "ping"???

When is it knocking (at start ups/all the time/at idle/or cruising) and what octane of gas are you using.... Could be bad gas or ignition.

I NEED TO HIT THE LOTTERY
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old Apr 6th, 10, 07:52 AM
Gold Lifetime Member
Matt

Could be several things...exhaust leak, worn lifter, worn main/rod bearing or just pinging due to timing/gas, etc. Do you hear it at idle, acceleration, cruse...? Did it just start? What motor and how many miles on it? Do you know what your initial and full advance timing is set at?

Matt

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old Apr 6th, 10, 07:54 AM Thread Starter
Joe

Thank you for replying. I can hear it at idle and during acceleration. The engine sounds great to me otherwise, but I can just hear the faint "ping" sound. Probably couldn't hear it if you wasn't trying. I have been using the lowest octane or cheapest gas, but I have been driving it 2 or 3 times a week since the weather has warmed up. The oil pressure gauge is within normal ranges. I don't recall hearing the sound during ignition.
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old Apr 6th, 10, 07:55 AM
Gold Lifetime Member
Matt