Car Bucks, Fuel Problem? - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old May 24th, 10, 10:07 AM Thread Starter
Tech Team
Logan

Car Bucks, Fuel Problem?

Hello, I have a 72 Camaro SS with a 350 and a Rochester quad carb. New HEI distributor on it too. Here is my problem that i cannot figure out...

When i am driving my car on the highway is runs fine going about 75 MPH for about 60 miles from when i start. after about 60 miles (sometimes 90 miles sometimes only 15 miles) when i am going up a little hill the car starts bucking and when i try to give it more gas it bucks harder. It acts like it is getting no fuel but i know the tank is full or at least has gas. I thought maybe it was bad gas, even though i have been using the same gas stations for 2 years, so i tried dry gas, no help.

Here are this weird things. The bucking only starts going up hill but once it starts it will do it whether on flat ground or going down hill. i pull over to a rest area or something and decided to change the fuel filter, not the one inside the carb. i clean it all out, there is nothing in it, and put it back together. Magic, the car works, until anywheres from 15-90 miles later, then it all starts over again.

Here is what i think it may be, one of these: fuel filter, fuel pump, sediment in the gas tank(even though there is nothing in the filter but cleaning it tends to temporarly fix it), fuel lines(maybe air is getting in?), or something is messed up inside my carb.

Does anyone have any ideas!?!?

Thanks in advance for all the help!!

94 Camaro Z28
89 Camaro Iroc
72 Camaro SS
67 Camaro Convertible
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old May 24th, 10, 11:57 AM
Gold Lifetime Member
Vince

Garage
Re: Car Bucks, Fuel Problem?

Nice car. I would say a filter somewhere is the culprit unless something is closing off the exhaust when going uphill and the car is choking.