Flashing the starter - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 39 (permalink) Old Jul 5th, 11, 08:31 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Kevin

Flashing the starter

The problem is getting worse. It used to happen only occasionally but now most of the time, when the car is up to operating temperature, it won't start without having to the flashing the starter. I can turn the key to start and there is nothing. The lights don't dim or the radio doesn't stutter, nothing. It's like I don't even turn the key. However, when I flash the starter it starts with the key normally, like nothing is wrong. Today, using a screwdriver, I got a spark jump from from the solenoid to the header and it started right up with the key. I've been chasing this problem around for a couple of years and haven't found a solution. I don't really get mad anymore because I expect it and know how to get it going, but am getting tired of having to crawl under it with a screwdriver. I've had the starter covered with a heat shield for a long time and have replaced the solenoid several times which didn't cure the problem. Anybody have any ideas? Thanks Kevin
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 39 (permalink) Old Jul 5th, 11, 08:45 PM
Senior Tech
Jon

Re: Flashing the starter

Try the old "hit the starter with a hammer" trick. If it starts with the key immediately after you hit it, suspect that it has bad brushes. If the brushes aren't making good contact with the armature, the solenoid has a lousy or no internal ground and you can get a no crank situation. Bypassing the wires when you jump it with a screwdriver just gives you less resistance and more juice.

Jon N

The only reason someone would want insurance is if they want to pay someone elses bills or want someone else to pay their bills.
post #3 of 39 (permalink) Old Jul 6th, 11, 06:57 AM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Kevin