holley help - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old Mar 12th, 01, 08:33 AM Thread Starter
Tech Team

Question

i have a 350 11:1 comp., .555 lift roller cam, edelbrock intake, holley 4150 carb. i cant get this thing to idle. ive been through the idle circuit several times now. it only runs when i stay on the pedal. vacuum leak is not the cause. probably should mention 11" stall converter. anyone help?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old Mar 12th, 01, 09:39 AM
Senior Tech

What is your vac at 800 rpm?
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old Mar 12th, 01, 10:10 AM Thread Starter
Tech Team

i cant go that low due to cam. i idle at 1500 rpm without load. in gear it dies, im thinking looser converter will cure it.

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old Mar 12th, 01, 10:16 AM
DjD
Retired
Dennis

Garage
I'm not a pro at this but at 1500rpm I think you're beyond the idle ckt. What are the rest of your cam specs? Also what's the advertised stall on that converter?

------------------
...Dennis
'69 RS Convertible w/SS trim
'96 Z28SS #1679 of 2410
"The Club"
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old Mar 12th, 01, 10:42 AM Thread Starter
Tech Team

.555 lift int&exh 330 degrees advertised duration @ 050. 1.5 ratio rockers. stall speed is 2500rpm.
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old Mar 12th, 01, 11:32 AM
Senior Tech

You said "330 degrees advertised duration @ 050". Do you actually mean 330 degrees advertised and about 280 degrees at .050 ?? Either way that is a really big cam, 1500 may be normal. The power bandwidth would be 5000 rpm to 9000 rpm!
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old Mar 15th, 01, 09:06 AM Thread Starter
Tech Team

yes it is 330 degrees advertised. and 1500 is a fine idle speed, but i cant keep it idling in gear unless im on the pedal. the second i drop it into gear it dies.
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old Mar 15th, 01, 11:01 AM