Timing mark jumps all over the place - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old Apr 24th, 01, 07:20 PM Thread Starter

Unhappy

I have a stock 327 /210 - only modification is a 4 barrel intake / 4 barrel quadrajet from a 350.

I have checked for vacuum leaks - found none.

Distributer is original - timing is set to 14 -

problem is - with the light on it - the timing mark jumps around (as far as 4 degrees) downward.

dwell sets up perfect at 32

plugs are new - wires new - dist cap new - all wires tight

what's my problem?

PS - I'm a beginner - just learning - the above is all I could think of.... let me know if there is something else I need to share with everyone to get the right answer.

Matt
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old Apr 24th, 01, 07:33 PM
DjD
Retired
Dennis

Garage
Advance spring could be getting weak, the weights could be sticking. The mechanical advance in itself isn't something that we think about in terms of maintaince like we do points and rotors...

------------------
...Dennis
'69 RS Convertible w/SS trim
'96 Z28SS #1679 of 2410
"The Club"
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old Apr 24th, 01, 09:37 PM
Senior Tech

I have seen this many times on a worn motor. Most likely your timing chain is streched. Pull your coil wire, then with your hands try to move your crank pulley right to left. This will tell you how much slack you have.

------------------
68 RS red w/ white stripes
67 SS/RS restoring

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old Apr 25th, 01, 06:50 AM
Senior Tech