Gears grinding.....having problems. - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old Mar 8th, 04, 03:21 AM Thread Starter

Question

Hey guys, you've always helped me in the past, so something tells me you'll get me through this one too. Ok, just recently (I'd say about a week or so) it has become impossible to accelerate in my '67 Camaro. It has a 4-spd Muncie by the way. It obviously feels like the clutch isn't disengaging correctly, because it feels like I have the clutch pressed in even when I don't. Plus it takes like 30 seconds to be able to get my car up to 10mph (and even though it's not a SS, it's not supposed to be that slow, lol!). The question I have is: what do I do? I'm new to the old muscle car scene, so don't assume I know more then I just posted. Any ideas? I don't mind going to buy whatever piece or getting my hands dirty, I just don't know where to begin. I'm stuck here! Thanks a bunch guys! -Mike
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old Mar 8th, 04, 07:34 AM
Super Moderator
Bess-68's rule

Garage
Thumbs up

It reads like you may need a new clutch system. First, check clutch pedal free play. This can be done by placing a ruler from the floorboard, w/carpet and floor mat, if you wish, next to the pedal. Place other hand onto pedal and note setting on ruler. Press down with clutch hand to till resistance is felt, note second ruler setting.

There should be no more than 3/8 inch of free play. If more, then adjust clutch at its adjustment. This being the linkage between the clutch fork and Z-bar.

Sometimes, in the life of a clutch, there will be no more adjustment left. This is a sign replacement is mandatory, or linkage may be bent or broken, or both.