Engine problem? - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Jun 5th, 00, 12:13 PM Thread Starter

Hello,
I am pretty new at working on engines, so if I am asking a dumb question, I apologize. I have a 79 Camaro that came with a 350. It was a dud, so I replaced the entire top of the engine. New cam, Edelbrock RPM intake, Chevy vortech heads, new valve springs and 1:6 roller rockers, new HEI distributor, Hooker headers, and a Holley 750 double-pumper. My problem is this: When I start the car, it starts right up. Got the timing set and such. But the engine won't stay running normal to idle. It kind of sounds like the engine is drowning?? It doesn't quit, but it sure is trying. So after I turn off the engine, I quickly checked the engine compartment. The secondarys(I think, closest to driver and without choke) on the carb are continuing to squirt fuel into the manifold. The fuel then is leaking out between carb and manifold. This flooding can't be normal. By the way, all these parts, including the carb, are brand new. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old Jun 5th, 00, 02:24 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
Jody