Never underestimate spark plugs - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old Aug 23rd, 02, 05:00 PM Thread Starter
mwh
Senior Tech
Marc

I've been trying to get my new 383 stroker running right for quite a while now. I am by no means an expert tuner, so it's been a real learning experience. The search feature here on camaros.net has been very handy and informative.

Since I first fired the motor, I've fixed a vaccuum leak, timing problem, re-adjusted the valves, and got the timing curve dialed in correctly. Idle mixture and accelerator pump cam are adjusted pretty well now. Don't get me wrong, all of this stuff has taken a lot of trial and error, and a lot of mistakes to finally get right.

So I come to my latest problem. Car was idling pretty good and would rev quickly, but as soon as I put it in 1st and let the clutch out, it would fall flat on it's face. Poor throttle response, and when I could finally get it moving, it would backfire out of the exhaust real bad.

The problem? The spark plugs!! Yep, they were sooty black from running too rich and from all of the other troubleshooting I had done. They were the plugs I first started the car with. On top of that #8 was even tightened all the way. It's real tight fit with the header, so even though I thought I got it tight, I must have been wrong. I am not sure how much it affected the motor, but it sure couldn't have helped. So the plugs were good enough to let the car idle and rev with no load, but that's about it.