Just dies - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Aug 10th, 03, 11:19 AM Thread Starter
Tech Team

68 327 auto. The engine just seems to die at any rpm very intermittently. At low speeds while driving it just quits and will restart after about one or two cranks so I think it is not a fuel prob. At high speed it sputters like crazy and backfires and will sometimes clear up. I am a newbie so here is my best distrib description. Big round gray housing with a red top that has only the words latch on it. I can not find the mfg name. No coil. The plug wires are new and are the plugs. There have been no additions or mods that would cause this to just start happening... if there was I could back track a little. Where should I start trouble shooting this. You guys are the gurus but for some reason I think I have an elect prob. When restarting it, it seems to have fuel because it does not turn over for a long time prior to firing.

Gary
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old Aug 10th, 03, 02:12 PM

i assume it's been changed to HEI since you cant see a coil.
i guess the first two things i'd check would be the vacuum advance on the distributer, and also the PCV valve and hose.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old Aug 10th, 03, 11:04 PM
Senior Tech

Drop by and I'll check it out. Oh sorry you aren't from anywhere visible.
Anyway try a flat head screw driver to remove the distributor cap. Then remove the rotor thing with a flat metal piece going to one side. Then check around under there for loose wires and such. Clips or whatever that are seposed to be secured but aren't. You can also poke around under the dash or where evver you care to look for goofy wiring.
What's an HEI right