Transmission Question - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old Jan 28th, 00, 12:38 PM Thread Starter

Question

Quick question....

I have an '84 with a standard v6 and automatic transmission. When i am driving it, it kicks when it shifts from 1st to 2nd and occasionally from 2nd - 3rd. I have checked the fluids, but don't know what else to do.
You will have to excuse my lack of knowledge, but i am just getting into this kinda of stuff. Is there anything else I could check? or is my transmission dying?

------------------
-Dan Taney
([email protected])
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old Jan 28th, 00, 03:58 PM

well I have a 85 v6 automatic and had a similar problem and it went away but months latter it really knocked hard in 1st gear so I talked to a transmision guy and said I had to get it rebuilt not sure if the two problems were related but I threw a rod a month ago and not sure what I'm going to do with my car now. Perfect body, new paint but bad Engine and drive train.

Automatic trannies are usually pretty hard when it comes to fixing your self most repair manuals say talk take it to a shop.

My tranny guy was nice and waved the usual $55 dollar fee to find out what is wrong with it and said it would cost $300 to repair it.

On another topic how many miles does your car have. Mine had 120,000 when it died. But I live in South Florida and ran it hard in the heat for last two years and my brothers had it before me and they had heavy foots too.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old Jan 28th, 00, 04:06 PM
Tech Team

Thumbs up

i would purchase a haynes repair manual, i dont exactly know what type of automatic you have but you could try changing the "modulator valve"(it is usually located on the outside of transmission and has a vacum hose running to it)and also i dont know if your year camaro has a computer? or not? good-luck...

------------------