new tranny or rebuild? - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old Feb 8th, 03, 08:43 AM Thread Starter

ok, Tranny shop tells me that I will be better off overhauling my tranny. I have been having trouble with leaks. They seem to pop up here and there. My question is, would it be better to overhaul the old th350 or look for a new tranny. Seems like I saw in a magazine a new tranny for about the same as the cost to rebuild. I have no tranny experience. How rough would it be for me to do the rebuild. If it isnt to much of a nightmare waht special tools would I need if any? Tranny is a 73 th350 thanks guys

------------------
Scott
73/74 mix. (Its a mutt) 73 350 bored 30 over, Th350 tranny. With the Lord willing, may we never have to drive a MiniVan!

The ole Mutt
http://photos.yahoo.com/bc/gateruner...otos.yahoo.com
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old Feb 8th, 03, 09:09 AM
Senior Tech

The newer rebuild kits for performance can give you a heavier duty trans than the 700 with it's after market options. Just in case a 700 got attractive.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old Feb 9th, 03, 01:31 PM

<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by gateruner:
ok, Tranny shop tells me that I will be better off overhauling my tranny. I have been having trouble with leaks. They seem to pop up here and there. My question is, would it be better to overhaul the old th350 or look for a new tranny. Seems like I saw in a magazine a new tranny for about the same as the cost to rebuild. I have no tranny experience. How rough would it be for me to do the rebuild. If it isnt to much of a nightmare waht special tools would I need if any? Tranny is a 73 th350 thanks guys