Hard start - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old May 30th, 01, 11:13 AM Thread Starter
Tech Team

Arrow

Ok, I know that this topic has been gone over a million times but I can't help thinking that my question is "my car" specific. Here goes, my Camaro starts easily when cold and runs like a charm, but when I start it when it is hot it barely chugs and then starts. I have a Powermaster mini starter with 1000 volt Diehard Gold trying to do the duty. Now I know that sometimes hot air gets trapped in the intake (vapor lock) and blah, blah blah. We all know about that. Well my question is this--could timing play a part in this and what can I do to fix it?

PS. Here is some added useful information--
1. The engine is overcarbed-I have a Holley 800 CFM with VS on a 350. (But jetted down).
2. My machine shop came up with this calculation that says I should time my car to 24 degrees advanced. That sounded crazy to me but the car runs well after being started.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old May 30th, 01, 12:25 PM

Get your initial back down to about 12 deg, then change the advances to compensate for the differences. Then give your mechanic the finger for not knowing better, even after you asked for help. Ray
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old May 31st, 01, 05:36 AM Thread Starter
Tech Team

Well I called the machine shop and they said that they computed the 24 degrees advanced so that I could time it without the vacuum plugged, making the timing down to around 12 if I would plug the vacuum. I think I should have never taken any part of my car to this shop. What do you all think?

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old May 31st, 01, 06:37 AM
Senior Tech
Steven

I agree with RA about the initial timing..If you want more total advance, you can experiment with different springs in the distributor
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old May 31st, 01, 04:29 PM Thread Starter