Engine Coolant Low Light coming on w/ plenty of coolant - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old Jul 4th, 02, 05:01 AM Thread Starter

Hello. I'm new at this, and female, so be kind please. I know this is a man's world. I have a 95 z28, which I love dearly. At about 85,000 miles the Engine coolant low light came on, but there was plenty of coolant. I had the radiator flushed etc. hoping that would correct the problem, but it didn't. As soon as I drive a fews miles the low engine coolant light comes on. I had this check at a second shop and they didn't know how to fix it either. The car doesn't overheat, the light just comes on. I have not gone to the dealer because of a bad experience with my convertible top. I have lost confidence in them, but that's another story. Thanks for any help you can give me.

------------------
HurricaneFran
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old Jul 4th, 02, 07:14 AM
DjD
Retired
Dennis

Garage
Welcome Fran,

I'll ask about the user name another time... I have a '96 and the owners manual (p2-82) has a short bit on that warning light. If the light comes on when you first turn the key on it should be working ok. The book says after you fill the rad it may still come on and you have to turn the ing sw to off then start the car to reset it.

Let's go forward from there as you said it doesn't come on right away. I think your system may be building up excessive pressure and filling the overflow tank when warmed up. This lowers the coolant level in the rad and triggers the light. When things cool down the coolent is returned back to the rad from the overflow tank and all looks normal.