Q-Jet accel pump not pumping fully - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old Nov 15th, 01, 04:21 AM Thread Starter

I have just built a 383 and am having problems with my carb. When I "blip" my throttle, the engine stalls for a second and then comes on. Under load, it will only run under small throttle changes. I manually opened the throttle and when the accel pump rod is first pushed, no fuel is coming out. Pushing it a little further causes fuel to dribble out and if I push it all the way down, I get a stream of fuel.

The carb is an Edelbrock Q-Jet replacement that I bought about 1 year ago and have been running it on my old engine without this problem. I did pull the air horn due to my float getting stuck and pouring gas everywhere. I also have replaced the accel pump with a new one with the same results.

I am relatively new to carbs, but have read up a bit. What should I check next?

Chris
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old Nov 15th, 01, 06:38 AM
Super Moderator
Bess-68's rule

Garage
Cool

One should adjust the pump linkage to move the same time the throttle moves, a one for one action.

One should also check for two of the following problems,
1. Check to make sure the edge of the new acell pistion is not curled up when installed last time,
2. Check to make sure the power valve and its spring is in place, sometimes, they can become stuck, the piston has a bar acroos the top suspending the metering rods, and a spring in the bottom of the well. Metering rod may have fallen off, or piston stuck in bore, or spring is sprung/damaged.
3. Check timing and readjust idle mixture screws with a vacuum gauge and reset curb idle. Always adjust screws for highest vacuum reading.
4. Make sure the spring on the acellerator pump shaft is not stuck/damaged. Use vaseline on lip of piston to prevent roll-up.