Wiped cam or what? How can I tell. - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 39 (permalink) Old Dec 26th, 02, 07:44 PM Thread Starter

I recently put a new top end (cam,lifters,heads,intake) back on my car and started it up for a few minutes. The car revs nicely at a stop while parked. It craps out on me and backfires when I put a load on it. It seems to not have any power at all. We did a compression check and all cylinders registered 165 to 170. I am a novice at this tuning stuff, so be nice. What are the symptoms of a flattened cam. I know the first seconds on a new cam are critical.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 39 (permalink) Old Dec 27th, 02, 01:29 AM
Senior Tech

Send a message via AIM to Spames
Those symptoms sound like a wiped cam to me. Can you remove the valve covers, and look at your rocker arms, and see if one or more don't seem to be moving as much as the others? I had the same thing happen to me once. It was the first time I tried to replace a cam, and I had it advanced so far that my headers glowed red. Whoops....

------------------
68 Coupe, 350 4-speed
Jim's Camaro Corner
post #3 of 39 (permalink) Old Dec 27th, 02, 02:05 AM
Senior Tech

You will also notice several rockers out of adjustment. and glitter in the oil.

------------------
67 prostreet BB Camaro The Combat Rat
80 z28 Camaro 355ci
71 BB SS Chevelle (clone)
2002 35th anniv SS Z28 conv.

post #4 of 39 (permalink) Old Dec 27th, 02, 06:28 AM Thread Starter

I'll check into that.
Thanks guys.
vic
post #5 of 39 (permalink) Old Dec 27th, 02, 06:50 PM
SY1
Senior Tech
Dave

Vic,