lens cover actuation - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Mar 5th, 00, 06:17 AM Thread Starter

Question

New guy, old question. Shopping a '68 RS SS. Issue is lens covers will not accuate. Are they vacuum driven and if so can a new system be found? Novice here, all advice in regards to year and model are appreaciated. The price of these babes shows a recently increased audiance, no?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old Mar 5th, 00, 06:36 AM
Tech Team
Joe

Garage
68&69 RS's are vacuum actuated and 67s have electric motors. most 68&69 RS parts are interchangeable except the doors and the 69's have a light washer system. the most likely cause of the doors not working on a 68 is a vacuum leak. when i got mine the doors didnt work either. i was able to just cut about a half inch off the end of all the vacuum hoses as they were all dry rotted and split at the ends. RS parts are readily available from most all restoration parts companies.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old Mar 5th, 00, 03:35 PM
Senior Tech

Red face

I think the Vacuum lights were the best bet. I have a 67 RS with the electric motors, although they work, they still suck. and the motors are so expensive... only 1 of mine works correctly now. opens / closes, the other said no way. heheheheh

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old Mar 6th, 00, 02:21 PM
Tech Team