Low Vacuum reading! - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old May 19th, 04, 08:18 AM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Greg

Garage
What are the causes of a low vacuum reading? I am in the process of tuning my motor and did a vacuum check. It does not pull more that 7-8Hg of vacuum at idle. I have the motor idling around 800 rpm in neutral. It seems to idle bit rougher than i expected but not bad. The vacuum reading is not very steady and seems to bounce around a bit. I was considering hooking up my vac advance to help with the idle. The specs on the Vac can state that it will pull 10* with 15lbs of vacuum. Since I am no where near 15 in of vacuum, Its not going to help any. I have timing set to 15 initial, 36 total. Carb is a 750 Holley HP VS, 70 front 74 rear, 6.5 PV. I've checked for vacuum leaks and haven't found any. Shouldn't I be pulling more vacuum? I'm very new at tuning and have read through some previous posts on the subject but the low vacuum concerns me.
thanks,
Greg

68 Island Teal
383/700r4
Hotchkis TVS with Global West UCA's

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old May 19th, 04, 09:10 AM
DjD
Retired
Dennis

Garage