V-6 w/MPFI Stumbls&Stalls - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Jan 30th, 02, 07:45 PM Thread Starter

Question

Hey guy's I am turning to you for help on this one. My sister in-law has an '88 Camaro with a 2.8litre Multi Port FI engine. She took it to a garage for a diagnostic check because it will stumble and then stall when she tries to accelerate. They told her that she needs to have the injectors cleaned and it would be a good idea to change the fuel filter. I think I can handle the filter if I can locate the fuel pump fuse, but I have no experience with this type of injection system. What all is involved in the cleaning procedure? Does it require any special tools? She is on a budget and I'd like to help her if I can. Thanks in advance for any help you can give.

------------------
Phill V.
'79 Camaro mild 355 ci
Daily driver
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old Jan 30th, 02, 11:24 PM
Senior Tech
Bruce

I have a 90 camaro with the 3.1 w/multi port fuel injection and all I did to clean things up was run a good can of fuel injector cleaner in the gas tank. Also it helps to run the good gas once in a while. The fuel filter is easy. It's located on the drivers side, right by the front of the rear wheel. Make sure you take of the gas cap or when you loosen the fuel lines, gas will come out a flyin. You may also want to try the TPS switch, (throttle position switch). It's located on the throttle body, passenger side. It's a little black switch with three wires. Mine went bad and caused all sorts of stumbles when I went tp pull out. I have since then, changed the filter, air and fuel, run good gas and a can of cleaner every once in a while and changed out the TPS switch and now I have no troubles. If your worried about the cost, the switch was under 20.00, the filter was 10.00, and cleaner isn't that much.
Godd luck,
Bruce