stuck at the gas station in my 69 - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old Mar 7th, 00, 05:41 PM Thread Starter

Angry

hey everyone i just started working on my 69 again you know how that goes it was under the cover for 2 years anyway im having a problem with the starter when the car is cold it starts right up but when the engine gets hot and i turn it off and then try to restart it i have to wait 15-20 minutes for it to cool down pretty embarrasing as i got stuck at the gas station last week its a 396 bb and im wondering why this is happening i dont have a heat shield on the starter could that be the problem i got the car started with the old screw driver on the stater what else can i check as im an amatuer mechanic

thanks

jb
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old Mar 7th, 00, 06:32 PM
David Pozzi

If you have an automatic trans, check the neutral safety switch.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old Mar 7th, 00, 06:40 PM Thread Starter

the car was originally an automatic but now its is a manual where is the neutral safety switch located and what is its function? thx <BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by davidpozzi:
If you have an automatic trans, check the neutral safety switch.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old Mar 8th, 00, 08:12 AM
Senior Tech

Cool

I have the same problem with my car. In fact, during a recent cruise with my Camaro club, we had three cars at one of our stopping points act up and not start. It was a sad sight. One of the guys pulled out a screwdriver and arced the starter to get them started.