First Performance Decision - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old May 2nd, 00, 12:21 PM Thread Starter

Question

I am asking for advice on what a beginner should get first when trying to gain more low-end HP. My car is a 1979 automatic 350 camaro. Everything right now is stock except for a new 3.73 posi rear end. It stalls / hesitates during heavy acceleration. I was told to get a new intake and carb. Do I have to get a new camshaft to match the intake? Will a torque convertor help me? If so what stall speed do you recommend? Part of the reason why I want more HP is because I am getting beaten off the line by cheap imports like Civics and Acuras. As you can tell I am a beginner and with some help I would like to increase low-end HP and beat those imports. Thanks, Justin
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old May 3rd, 00, 03:02 AM
Senior Tech

Cool

1979camaro350

Start with the basics. Exhaust, ignition, intake and carb. The stock cam should surfice but, if you must change it I would'nt go too big with it. A 268 is plenty big for the stock engine and have the power-band you need. As for the intake and carb goes may I reccommend a Edelbrock combo (600 cfm w/performer intake) Hope this is of help. Good luck

71 Camairo
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old May 3rd, 00, 05:05 AM
Senior Tech

I had a '74 Camaro with the same engine/tranny combo. I added headers and a dual exhaust, a good tuneup, and a mild tranny shift kit. It made a world of difference although I still wouldn't call it fast. The Edelbrock combo is a good recommendation and should be the next step. Then upgrade the ignition with a better coil and recurve the distributor. Just take it one step at a time.

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old May 3rd, 00, 08:22 AM

Get rid of that quadrapuke and get a new holley or edelbrock carb to start.
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old May 3rd, 00, 10:45 AM Thread Starter