Hesitation under load - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old Apr 12th, 01, 03:40 PM Thread Starter

Unhappy

Hi people. This is my first time posting. However I have been a reader for some time. Awesome resource for tech info.

Well here is my problem. When I accelerate up to say 3000RPM on average I get a hesitation from the engine. While the pedal is depressed half or beyond the RPM's dont't drop off from 3000 but they sure don't climb very fast either. If you let off the gas and drop back below 3000 it runs fine. In fact it runs perfect at idle and in any gear as long as you dont go over 3000 RPM.

Changed the cap, rotor, plugs, wires and fuel filter, module and capacitor and it made no difference to the problem.

It is the original fuel pump on a 305, not the high output 305.
The carb is the original Rochester Q jet 4 barrel and the distributor is original to.

Here is one of the weird things that happens through it all. Some times as you shift from 3 to 4 or 4 to 5 The rpm's drop off to zero and she dies. Pop the clutch and bang catches right away. Now if you keep your foot on the gas a little in the same situation it will keep the RPM's up without a problem, however let off the gas all together and bye bye it dies out. I think it might be the fuel pump myself but I would like some other opinions before I go and spend some money. The car has never seen a winter and it is killing me to drive it this way.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks from 1983Z28
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old Apr 13th, 01, 05:48 AM
Tech Team

I would look for a little trash in the carb
I had the same problem on a old truck I had.
Took the carb apart and cleaned out the nastys and it ran fine.
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old Apr 13th, 01, 01:01 PM
Senior Tech

Lightbulb

I agree with blowncamaro.