4core vs. 3 core radiator - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old Jun 25th, 02, 08:08 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
SS

I have a 68 small block car with a 3 core that is like new, however the motor runs a little warmer than I would like. Would a 4 core BB radiator make the difference. I have an 18" electric fan 2200 cfm 180 thermostat and a weiand 8208 pump which I thought was high volume. It should run cool. I am considering going back to the conventional fan and shroud and/or using a 4 core.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old Jun 25th, 02, 08:42 PM

did you check that 180 thermostat to be sure it opened at 180 or very close to 180??

i got a 160 degree once that would not open till almost 190....

put the thermostat in a pot a water with a fast reading thermometer keep an eye on it as water heats...(digital thermo's work great for this test BTW )

check that first IMO then check into other options...(also is it only running to warm when sitting at idle .or all the times after heat up??
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old Jun 26th, 02, 03:43 AM
____

Garage
Send a message via MSN to DOUG G
I think that electric fan may be your problem. I run a new 21" 2 core with a 400SBC,180* t-stat,stock fan and shroud with out problems. On a 90+ day in traffic,or slow cruise speed it does get around 190*-200* and no boil over.

------------------
My '68 Camaro
Doug G.
68 Camaro
406 ci.
[email protected] W/ 2.73POSI.

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old Jun 26th, 02, 06:17 AM
Senior Tech

We do NOT have enough information to determine what is going on! Does it overheat at idle or cruising. Two differing problems requiring two differing solutions.

Idle overheating is usually due to lack of airflow if the engine cools cruising. A quality electric fan will ALWAYS PRODUCE MORE AIRFLOW AT IDLE AND SLOW SPEEDS than mechical fans! So, the jury is still out on that.