Engine won't fire - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Jun 11th, 19, 07:56 PM Thread Starter
Probationer
Matt

Engine won't fire

Hey guys, hope this is the right place to post this question... I have 69 with a 406. Recently rebuilt engine. Just got it up and running since the rebuild. Was running good up until I had it idling in the drive way and the radiator/water pump hose popped off. Coolant pissed everywhere. I immediately shut it off. Got a new hose and clamp hooked up. Got the coolant all filled back up. Cleaned up. However now I can't get it to fire when I crank on it. I checked for spark and it's good. I checked a few cylinders for compression and they were consistently 150. The fuel is flowing through the carb. I tried jumping it to see if the battery was too weak. Any tips or things you'd recommend I look at? Really appreciate any info. This is my first project car and learning along the way.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old Jun 11th, 19, 09:18 PM
Senior Tech
Brandon

Re: Engine won't fire

When you say you've got spark. is that at the spark plugs or only from tension lead at coil to the cap? If the latter, it's possible your points are welded if you have a normal dizzy.. Pull the cap and first check for moisture, if found dry it out, the spark is traveling to the dizzy body into the engine. If no moisture, twist the dizzy shaft and watch the points contacts to make sure they are either opening or moving either closed or more open. I might lean more towards wet dizzy cap from the spray.

Brandon J. licence 1NASTY67

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old Jun 12th, 19, 09:03 AM
Admin/Super Moderator
Brian

Garage