smoke smell - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old Feb 18th, 06, 02:35 PM Thread Starter

smoke smell

I have a 2000 camaro, just recently purchased it. Since I have bought it after driving it I would notice a smoking smell. Its a 5speed and I am not that good with 5 speed. Well one day I jumped into the car with intentions on driving it when it seemed as if it did not want to crank. So i put some gas to it and then there was a popping noise and some smoke. I upped the hood and there was smoke. The smoke went away relatively fast and I was able to drive after that, but when I got home and parked I smelled smoke again. Tell me whats going on?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old Feb 19th, 06, 07:50 AM
Senior Tech
Jim

Re: smoke smell

Take it to someone who knows what they are doing before you burn it up.

Schoon
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old Feb 19th, 06, 08:44 AM
Senior Tech
Dave

Yeah, that's real good advice there. Cars will light off on you and burn like crazy. I would immediately go buy a small fire extinguisher and then do as Schoon says.

-

Dave F. in Rhode Island
'68 Camaro SS Accel DFI 454 (SOLD - I'm a boring Corvette owner now)
Bought my first big-block Chevy in 1970

post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old Feb 19th, 06, 11:18 AM
Senior Tech

A couple things come to mind. I don't want you to overlook a more serious issue, but here are some things you should expect to encounter from time to time.