I Don't Get It ! - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old May 29th, 06, 02:10 PM Thread Starter

I Don't Get It !

I hope someone can explain this to me, I am not a mechanic, but I get things pretty quickly.

I am having a serious electrical issue. My car has been eating up batteries like gas. I have gone through 1 Yellow Top Optima, 2 Red Top Optima's and one cheap Kragen battery. I have also replaced the Starter, Alternator, and Distributor...(now I have an HEI dist.). As a precaution, I have also disconnected the alarm system that had an electronic cut off that use to disturb the system. I have also had a new cable connect to the negative of the battery with a switch that cuts off any power to the battery. And it still it dies ( I think ...keep reading it gets interesting).

I have had two different mechanics check fuses, the alternator, and see if there is an improper ground and all of them have agreed that everything is fine.

The only thing that one mechanic came up with is that when the amplifier ( I do not have a sound system, its a small amp that boost up the sound a bit so I can hear it) draws a small amount more from the battery when plugged in. He disconnected it and then it when to a normal pull when the car is off. He said since the amp really did not take much power, lets install the negative cut off so there is no draw what so ever. So we did that and it still died.

So right now, I drove it. I got gas and a sandwich and within that time the car died....so I thought....so after 5 minutes of "Oh God, I have to tow it again this month " I messed with the shifter and then attempted to start the car. This time it choked for about 3 seconds so I stopped. Then did it again and then it started. " WHAT THE ? "

Normally, when the car dies there is no choke, the key turns and then there is nothing...why did it do it now ?