Please help Cold start and a Dieseling issue - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old Jul 11th, 06, 12:35 AM Thread Starter
Tech Team

Please help Cold start and a Dieseling issue

Please help i dont know where else to go. I am a kustom car builder but have been out of the loop of doing the engines myself for a while and my engine builder and head shop mechanic died 6 months ago in a motorcycle accident with some chic drinking her latte and talking on her cell phone and i can't bring myself to replace his presence in the shop.

So here's the deal. We just put a 383 stroker into the 68 firebird ragtop.
It is a blueprint motor and has MSD billet ready to run distibutor, MSD blaster 2 coil and wires. It has an edlebrock 750 on it and runs 405 hp, The issue is when its cold it really does not want to start. and then any time you shut it off no matter how warm or cold it is it diesels. and to make matters worse some times when you try to start it, it sounds like the starte misses the flywheel all together. I know it needs to be shimmed but not sure how much. when its running it runs great. I just have those 2 issues. It was supposed to be dyno tuned before arriving but who knows how well that was done. Some one told me the dieseling issue could be 2 hot of an idle but i dunno. Please help.

And thanx in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old Jul 11th, 06, 03:38 AM
Super Moderator
Bess-68's rule

Garage
Re: Please help Cold start and a Dieseling issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by budga
Please help i dont know where else to go. I am a kustom car builder but have been out of the loop of doing the engines myself for a while and my engine builder and head shop mechanic died 6 months ago in a motorcycle accident with some chic drinking her latte and talking on her cell phone and i can't bring myself to replace his presence in the shop.