q-jet problems - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old Nov 3rd, 06, 11:49 AM Thread Starter

q-jet problems

just bought an '84 z28 with what i think is a carb problem. the engine will start right up and idle fine. however, if i rev the engine any higher than about 2500rpm and hold it stead it will be okay for about 20 seconds then will start sputtering, jerking, and backfiring, and drop rpms even though the accelerator hasn't moved. if i rev it up to 3500 for 20 seconds it will drop to somewhere between 2000 and 2500rpm. i can let off the accelerator and it will return to idling just fine. then i can bring it back up to 3500 and after another 20 seconds it does it again. I'm no mechanic so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old Nov 3rd, 06, 12:09 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
John

Re: q-jet problems

Could likely be fuel delivery to the carb.
Check;
Fuel filter
Hoses for deterioration
Fuel lines for damage
Pick-up and filter sock (in tank) for problems like plugged filter sock

You could splice a fuel pressure gauge into the delivery hose after the fuel pump and monitor the pressure as the throttle is opened.

Welcome to Team Camaro
Semper Fidelis
Hope this helps;
John

1968 Convertible
Some trucks
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Other V8 things - some of which float
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Other V6 things - none of which float

Oh yeah, and 1 "Straight-Six" ...

If a man says something in the garage - and his wife can't hear him - is he still wrong !!!
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old Nov 3rd, 06, 01:39 PM Thread Starter

update and additional information