Seal it or replace it? - Team Camaro Tech
Troubleshooting Diagnosing problems done here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old Nov 3rd, 06, 05:35 PM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member

Seal it or replace it?

Hello All,

I had a small vent tube welded in the gas tank for my 1969 Camaro. It's probably a small 3/8" diameter tube and it's probably about and inch and a half long. Some people call this an overflow tube. I asked the guy who did it and the guy who suggested it, if the vent tube would leak. I told him it is going to be a street car. They said it shouldn't leak. I've never done that before so I figured ok fine. Unfortunately it leaks when I go around turns even with the gas tank only at a 1/4 tank. The fuel obviously sloshes around back there and it leaks out of the tube. At first I though it was the sending unit fuel line that is unused. It's not. It's the vent tube. I think this also may be causing air to get in the gas tank. You don't want air in your fuel lines.

I also had a sump welded in the bottom of the gas tank. I should have known better than to have a vent tube welded at the top right corner since my gas cap is a factory OEM vented cap.

I have another gas tank with an even more kick @$$ sump that will help control slosh. They are both brand new still in the box. If I use this new set up, it means that I have to drop the current tank, sending unit etc. Should I just try to seal this vent tube and see what happens?