Team Camaro Tech banner

Novice EFI install

6K views 27 replies 7 participants last post by  SIDEWAYS 
#1 ·
I have procrastinated long enough. Tomorrow I will begin the tear down of my current carb set up which is running the best it has ever ran since I installed my Mark Jones 496. We are finally getting some summer so this is not helping. I am enjoying cruising. I will work some evening to try to get this conversion done before winter flies. I will go nuts if I can't try it out before the snow comes.
Any way I consider myself a novice and an absolute newby when it comes to efi.I will try to update this as my install progresses. It will be a Holley HP efi sequential mpfi system. I have most of the pieces to start so lets see how it goes. I am counting on you guys to help me out.

Here goes...

I have port matched the intake to the gaskets.The Edelbrock oval port intake was originally 1.7 X 1.9. I have bored it out to 1.9 x2.1. The bit kept loading up, It took more time to clean the bit then grind the intake!
I have modified the throttle linkage and fuel rail for clearance. I needed to add a spacer under the throttle body and trim some material off of the fuel rail. The linkage got turned inside out and I built a new piece of the linkage to square things up. Powder coated the intake and rails.(I wasn't planning that but they were rough and it help hide my grinding on the rail).I have installed a good chuck of s.s. 1/2 hard line beside my 3/8 existing line that will become my return. Built a mount for my ecu that will be in the engine bay.
I will go for one last ride tomorrow if the weather permits and start draining fluid tomorrow nite.
Pic 1 is what I am starting with.
pic 2 the new linkage piece I built. I only had hand tools. Guess which piece I built !
3 I am trying to show the clearance I have
The rest are pics I like.

I am handy but remember I am a NOVICE. If you see this project going south let me know!

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·