Front disk conversion kits - who's the best? - Team Camaro Tech
Brakes, Suspension & Steering Conversion questions, Steering & Handling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old Apr 15th, 07, 04:13 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team

Question Front disk conversion kits - who's the best?

I just bought a 69 Camaro with power drums front and back. I want to convert the front to power disk and I could use some advice....
Car has a brand new booster and drum master. Can I keep the booster and just get a new disk master?
Some kits include the booster and master - is that a better way to go? Some kits include new disk brake spindles and some say they are direct bolt ons and can use the drum spindles with out modification (like ECI and ABS) - which is the better way to go?
Who makes the best kit overall - instructions, support, fit, compatibility with parts down the road?

I'm not experienced with brakes, but good mechanically, so great documentation will be a big plus! Or, is this more than I should be taking on? What do I need to look out for?

Thanks
Bob
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old Apr 15th, 07, 06:41 PM
Senior Tech
Dan

Re: Front disk conversion kits - who's the best?

I can't compare and contrast different setups since I only tried one, but the set I purchased from http://www.mattsclassicbowties.com/ went together without problems and consisted of quality parts. The kit is really a CPP (classic performance products http://www.classicperform.com/) kit. It includes a cad plated booster with an oem appearance. The combination valve looks different than original, but doesn't concern me. I would recommend buying the full brake line kit at the same time.

Stock '68 Camaro L48 M20 3:31 LeMans Blue Coupe, black deluxe int, console w/gauges
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old Apr 15th, 07, 07:16 PM