HELP!! no brakes,new vert, nice day, wana cruise - Team Camaro Tech
Brakes, Suspension & Steering Conversion questions, Steering & Handling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old Apr 22nd, 07, 07:08 AM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member
jimmy

HELP!! no brakes,new vert, nice day, wana cruise

Hello all, I am brand new this morning. Just purchased 1967 ss 350 convertible, 4 speed, front disc brakes. Brought it home last weekend, brakes seemed ok. I went DMV and got tags (always a treat). Wanted to take on initial run so I checked the fluids. Front Reservoir empty !! So I filled it up and enlisted wife for pumping duty. Right front caliper ---no air. Left front-- nothing but air. Filled and pumped two complete reservoir's worth. No luck. No visable leaks. But when you go to refill master cylinder, front reservoir is full of tiny bubbles. Question: is my master cylinder gone ? OK Guys be gentle, this is my first time. Thanks in advance. Gypsy Jim
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old Apr 22nd, 07, 09:17 AM
Senior Tech
john

Re: HELP!! no brakes,new vert, nice day, wana cruise

you really need to remove your tires,pull the rear drums and do a visual inspection of all four corners!! if the master was empty,there probably is a reason..

we need to keep you around!!!!

Remember,I'm not making this stuff up!

1969 rs/ss 396 350hp/4spd conv a/c,pw,ps,foldown
1968 Z/28 crossram- j/l8 conv pw,ps,foldown
1963 nova ss 350/4spd conv a/c,ps,pt
1963 nova 400 4dr 6cyl/700r4 a/c
2006 GT/5spd mustang conv
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old Apr 22nd, 07, 09:21 AM
Senior Tech

usually leaking wheel cylinders is a problem w/ these cars. Sometimes you can't even see the leaks. They rust and then sieze up causing problems.

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old Apr 22nd, 07, 01:11 PM
Senior Tech
Blaine

you have a leak some where brake fluid just doesn't evaporate! By the way jimmy welcome to team camaro you will get a lot of help and info here.