Caliper/Bumpstop interference 67 conversion - Team Camaro Tech
Brakes, Suspension & Steering Conversion questions, Steering & Handling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old Jul 4th, 08, 04:05 PM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member
Gary

Caliper/Bumpstop interference 67 conversion

Happy 4th ! Ok I was wondering if any 67 owners have the front disk brake conversion kit from Right Stuff Detailing ? My bump stop and caliper collide when the wheel is turned all the way. I called the company and thet told me that some guys take off the bump stop. I really dont want to do that. On my 67 the bump stop is on top and mounted on a bracket welded to the frame. Without the motor in the the car the caliper line hits the rubber at full turn. The company told me that when the motor is dropped in it should clear. I am no rocket scientist but I think it would make it worse. I should be dropping in the motor next week but I am not counting it helping. They told me that I can upgrade to the 4 piston caliper set up that was originally on a 67 and it should clear. Before I spend more money I dont have I wanted to hear other experiences that any of you may have had. The comanys support is good and they are working with me to get this resolved. Heres a pic at full turn, no motor. My car is a resto mod and no where near original. If I cut off the bracket off the frame to remove the bumpstops, can I add a bumpstop to the lower arm like the 68-69?

Thanks in advance
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 093.jpg
Views:	167
Size:	125.2 KB
ID:	7085  

Gary

67 RS Resto-Mod 468 5 spd TKO600 3.73 12 bolt (work in progress but finally on the road!)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

73 Camaro project in a million pieces
Sponsored Links
Advertisement