67 Brake Pedal Pressure, What to expect? - Team Camaro Tech
Brakes, Suspension & Steering Conversion questions, Steering & Handling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old Sep 30th, 10, 05:44 AM Thread Starter
Tech Team
Mike

67 Brake Pedal Pressure, What to expect?

I'm new to first generation Camaro ownership and have a basic break question. On my 67 Camaro (power assisted front disc/read drum) the brake pedal goes 3/4 to floor for full breaking. Previous owner stated this was normal. Is it? If it's not normal could someone suggest the first steps in diagnosing the problem? Should I bleed the breaks? Replace front pads/rear pads?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old Sep 30th, 10, 07:54 AM
Senior Tech
red

Re: 67 Brake Pedal Pressure, What to expect?

First look at current level of brake fliuld in M/C. Next jack up car in front and, while engine running , Have some one push on brake pedal slowly till you can not turn front wheel. Check both for same. See where pedal location is for this. Then jack up back end and see where you have to push to stop back wheels. My thinking is do testing before you touch anything. Then give us the results,comments. Any info on M/C. Also pull off power brake fitting to see if pressure is still in booster, after car is shutsoff. Plastic elbow with 1 way valve in it. What you describe is not normal for pedal travel!!

Last edited by red67L78; Sep 30th, 10 at 08:05 AM.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old Sep 30th, 10, 08:00 AM Thread Starter
Tech Team
Mike

red67L78,

Totally agree on the testing process (if it ain't broke, don't break it). Thanks for the info. I'll run some test this weekend and post the results.

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old Sep 30th, 10, 01:54 PM
Senior Tech
Steps

1/ thing is to back off the E brake..jack up the rear wheels and adjust each side correctly