1967 Camaro Power Steering Pump removal. - Team Camaro Tech
Brakes, Suspension & Steering Conversion questions, Steering & Handling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old Nov 17th, 11, 04:38 PM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member
Dean

1967 Camaro Power Steering Pump removal.

Kinda embarassed to even ask this question....I'm just a wannabe be mechanic. The power steering pump on my 1967 is leaking BAD and I'm not sure how to remove it. The engine is a 327. I'm not even sure how to explain what I've done so far. On the front of the pump there appears to be a shaft about 4 inches long that runs through a pully. There is a bolt on the shaft and when I turn the bold with a wrench the pully turns so I'm not sure if that is attached to the pump. I think I could figure out the rest if I can get past this part. Sure would appreciate some direction.

Also...there seems to be several choices in replacement pumps. Any advice on this would also be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old Nov 17th, 11, 05:48 PM
Del

Re: 1967 Camaro Power Steering Pump removal.

The easiest way is to remove the whole pump with the brackets connectect to it. Loosen the bolt that keeps the pump in place or keeps tension for the belt. Then take the belt off. Look below the pump it should be in a craddle or bracket there is usually some bolts take those out they are bolted to the block. There may also be a bracket on the side that connects to the pump. Once you do this you should be able to pull it up and out so you can disconnect the hoses, and then watch out for the fluid of course. Hope this helps you.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old Nov 20th, 11, 01:31 PM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member
Dean