no brakes! - Team Camaro Tech
Brakes, Suspension & Steering Conversion questions, Steering & Handling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old Mar 4th, 17, 07:42 PM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member
GARY

Garage
no brakes!

Hadn't driven my '69 camaro since September - had it stored away for the winter, but needed to move it to another location today. Well, out of my driveway, noticed right away I had almost no brakes. Pedal almost to the floor.
I limped my way to the new location. Checked brake fluid level - fine. Checked vacuum hose to he booster - fine.
I'm far from a mechanic, but before I bring it in to a brake shop - any simple things I can check for first?

Thanks

Gary

69 RS/SS 350 Lemans Blue
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old Mar 4th, 17, 08:31 PM
Senior Tech
Camarodude67

Re: no brakes!

I'm guessing it is the Master Cylinder that is shot, does not take much for these to fail. And assuming no fluid is draining from a leaking wheel cylinder.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old Mar 4th, 17, 08:57 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
Chris

I'd check for leaks everywere. Pull the drums and check for leaks. Look for leaks where the MC connects to the booster and also take a look for leaks at the hold back valve, but if the fluid level was good in both compartments of the MC you probably don't have a leak. It could be that that MC has just gone bad as our colleague has already suggested. Does seem a bit strange that the brakes don't work after the car sat for only 6 months or so. I'm assuming that your rear brake shoes are adjusted correctly.

'69 Z/28, Lemans Blue/White Stripes, DZ302, Tremec Magnum, 4.10, Procar Elite Seats,
Custom Upholstery, Dynatech headers, 17" VWW V45's, 235/45, 275/40, C5 Front Brakes

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old Mar 5th, 17, 09:07 AM
Gold Lifetime Member
Don

Probably too late to ask if any wet spots inside the wheel or tires. That should tell you about leaks.