1st Gen Mono Leaf spring problem - Team Camaro Tech
Brakes, Suspension & Steering Conversion questions, Steering & Handling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Mar 17th, 18, 06:43 PM Thread Starter
Apprentice
david

1st Gen Mono Leaf spring problem

I've got a few posts here........cause I'm a newbie.

68 with mono leaf.....left spring was broken at the front mount.....literally broken (found the noise when the brakes were applied).

Anyway, ordered a set from Ricks/Ecklers ......and you might already know what's coming. The rear end sits way high.....like an old school jacked up rear. I sent pictures and customer service said they'd make it right. Anyone know a reliable co. or brand that doesn't have this issue??
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old Mar 18th, 18, 04:36 AM
Super Moderator
Bess-68's rule

Garage
Re: 1st Gen Mono Leaf spring problem

Heartbeat City, National Parts Depot, Tamrz (ebay)
Any spring made by Eaton. JC Whitney used to sell a 3-leaf direct replacement and installed with no pads.

Give a man a rescued dog for the health of both their souls. May 2017 ROTM Winner - Thank you!
'
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CUBS - 2016 World Series Champions - maybe this year, 2019 ...
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old Mar 18th, 18, 05:20 AM
Apprentice
Natty

Garage

My 69 Camaro had mono leafs too. I din't like the way it drive so I was looking for new springs. A friend of mine told me that I should order some lowering springs that the car doesn't lift up at the rear. So after a little bit of research I decided to buy a sportspring 1,5 drop kit from hotchkis. I'm very satisfied with that kit, it contained stronger mounting hardware too and the car performes so much better. Also the rear sits perfect for my taste

- 69 Camaro Z/28 Tribute -

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old Mar 18th, 18, 07:18 AM
Senior Tech
Al