Steering Wheel Fit - Team Camaro Tech
Brakes, Suspension & Steering Conversion questions, Steering & Handling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old Mar 30th, 18, 01:04 PM Thread Starter
Probationer
Steve

Steering Wheel Fit

Hi,

I am new to this as I just bought my first vintage car (so looking for any help I can get), 67 RS convertible 327. One of the first changes is replacing the steering wheel as it has an impala wheel on it just for transport. The replacement steering wheel we chose (GE certified wood Wheel) makes it almost impossible to slide into the car, as the wheel is very close to the seat. Is this normal or could something else be causing this that we are missing.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old Mar 30th, 18, 01:43 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
Mike

Garage
Re: Steering Wheel Fit

Whats the diameter of the "GE" wheel you installed? My OEM wheel is boxed and in storage or I'd measure mine LOL. And do you have a tilt column... maybe stuck in the down position? Even a stock steering wheel has more than enough room for an average-sized adult to slide behind the wheel. The original Gen1 steering wheels are a bit large and thin by todays standards. Another consideration is whether you are trying to restore the car to OEM specs or you're just interested in putting a nice, comfortable wheel in the car. Pictures would help.

'69 LeMans Blue Coupe, White Interior, 030" over 454, Super T10 4-Speed, Holley 4150, Pertronix Ignition
CompCams XS274S, 781 Oval Port Heads, PYPES Full 3" SS Exhaust, Hooker Comp Headers, Wilwood Calipers/MC
JGC Steering Box, Helix Uppers/Lowers, ProForged BJs, SpeedHut Gauges, MOMO Steering Wheel, Budnik 17" Wheels
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old Mar 30th, 18, 04:05 PM Thread Starter
Probationer
Steve

There is no tilt on the column. The wheel is 16" but I am thinking of going down to a 14" and not worry about the OEM part unless I end up selling or showing.