Opinions on disc conversion and suspension - Team Camaro Tech
Brakes, Suspension & Steering Conversion questions, Steering & Handling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old Jan 6th, 20, 09:07 PM Thread Starter
Apprentice

Opinions on disc conversion and suspension

I’m new to Camaro’s but just picked up a 67 that’s currently all stock unrestored but in decent shape. It’s all drums so I am at minimum going to upgrade front to disc but honestly it seems like for not much more money I could just go with a complete 4 wheel disc conversion. I’d like opinions on the best complete kit for the money and would prefer not to piece together things. I am also going to upgrade the suspension but I am wondering if it’s worth it to drop a couple grand on something like the complete kit that Ricks sells that includes a new steering box or the Hotchkis kit or should I just throw on some coilovers and new leafs and shocks. Basically how much better can I make it handle for around $2k. My car has manual steering so I thought the Ricks kit that includes a new power steering box seemed like a good deal unless it’s just not quality. Anyway thanks in advance for your help and I’ve already learned a ton from reading the forums.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old Jan 6th, 20, 09:53 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
Beth

Re: Opinions on disc conversion and suspension

Just did a 67 Chevelle ; here's what I did:

All new Moog rubber bushings on upper and lower control arms

1" drop BMR lowering springs ($110 front)

Replaced upper and lower ball joints (you could install a longer upper ball joint)

1-1/4" addco front sway bar - for a Camaro, use 1-1/8" ($120)

You don't need a rear sway bar on a 67 -69 because of leaf spring suspension

KYB monotube shocks ($160 for 4)

1998 Grand Cherokee steering box from RockAuto ($140)

These mods are cheap and make a huge difference