1991 doesn't want to go straight - Team Camaro Tech
Brakes, Suspension & Steering Conversion questions, Steering & Handling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old Feb 10th, 06, 10:21 PM Thread Starter

Question 1991 doesn't want to go straight

I'm new to this online car stuff, and I noticed most (all?) of the other discussions here are about 1st gen camaros. Should I be posting somewhere else for my 1991? Anyway, here's my problem, if anyone is interested.
I drove my 1991 305 rs for two years with a bent spindle which made the steering wheel stay at a 45 degree angle, and I didn't worry about it because the car handled fine. Then one day after a snowstorm, the car starting wandering all over the road (no, I was completely sober). Now I've had the spindle replaced, and two shops have checked out the front end and say it is sound. But it still doesn't like to go straight. Cornering seems fine, but coming back from a lane change to go straight again, it wants to wander. What should I look at next?

Last edited by stansherman; Feb 10th, 06 at 10:31 PM. Reason: am I in the right place?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old Feb 11th, 06, 04:36 AM
____

Garage
Send a message via MSN to DOUG G
Re: 1991 doesn't want to go straight

Steering box need adjustment ? I would think if everything is good with the suspention and steering linkage, plus no leaks ?

68 Camaro~LSx ~all motor
1.54 60'--6.95 @ 98.45 660'--10.96 @ 121.53
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old Feb 11th, 06, 02:14 PM

lower control arms on rear bushings prob shot. or front sway bar end links maybe? good luck, are the doors and everything lining up ok? maybe you twiked the unibody lol hope not

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old Feb 11th, 06, 02:21 PM
Team Member
Christropher