Bench bleeding? - Team Camaro Tech
Brakes, Suspension & Steering Conversion questions, Steering & Handling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old Feb 13th, 06, 05:41 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech

Bench bleeding?

Okay, this may be a really stupid question, but I havent found the answer in a couple hours of researching, so I am going to ask and maybe someone else may some day need this answer. After all, I am new to working on cars, so bare with me...

How do I bench bleed my master cylinder?

I did a front disc brake conversion from a manual drum setup to a power disc front brakes and got the proportioning valve and everything is installed. I am having problems with the pedal going to the floor. After reading here, like I said for hours, I am thinking maybe I need to bench bleed my master cylinder. It is on an angle and I did not bench bleed it so maybe that is my problem. I am getting a pretty good stream of fluid out the front, but the rear (drum) brakes are not getting the same amount coming out. I have been messing with this for 3 days now. My wife sits in the car reading a book while I am trying to bleed these brakes, that is how much I have been working on this problem. There does not seem to be air coming out of the lines, the front ones seem to really flow great, but the rear just kind of squirt a bit and then flow straight down. I am doing this with the car not started. Sometimes it seems like the pedal is hard and then other times it goes all the way to the floor. The brake light will come on when the pedal hits the floor if I have it running. Does this sound like a bench bleed is needed?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old Feb 13th, 06, 07:12 PM
DjD
Retired
Dennis

Garage
Re: Bench bleeding?