Power Steering and Brake Conversion Issues - Team Camaro Tech
Brakes, Suspension & Steering Conversion questions, Steering & Handling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old Jul 3rd, 06, 11:55 PM Thread Starter

Angry Power Steering and Brake Conversion Issues

Hi All,
I have been scanning your forumns for the past 5 months while trying to finish up a 67 camaro restoration that began 9 years ago. It was my fathers first new car and I trashed it growing up. SO I am trying to put it back together. I am almost done!!! But I am having problems 2 things and I think both of them belong in this category.

First the details of the problems:
I converted the steering and Brakes to power and disk brakes.
Conversion details:
Power Steering is a CPP quick ratio gear box and Billet Specialties pump (Tru track system) and remote reservoir. Have the steel braded hoses on the low pressure and a custom made high pressure hose.

Brakes are also CPP 4 wheel, power disc brake conversion.

Problems:
1)Power steering - I converted from manual to power. I have installed everything and after starting the engine 3-5 times had some alarming problems with the power steering. The steering would take off on me. It turned so hard and fast it actually cut my arm while I was reaching between the steering wheel spokes to turn the key. It did this a couple of time and then finally the pump blew out at the shaft seal. A buddy thought the pump was the problem I kind of thought the pump was a symptom of hte real problem. Ordered new pump and it does the same thing! Has not blown out yet, once it fdid it I shut it off and now I am begging the experts for help. Oh and also looked like there was some metal (probably aluminum-not magnetic) in the fluid + fluid was foaming a bit.