what is the correct tire PSI - Team Camaro Tech
Wheels & Tires What fits what?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old Aug 7th, 12, 08:30 AM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member
Randy

what is the correct tire PSI

I am running modern 17" wheels with Firestone Firehawk Indy 500 tires. Sidewall says Max PSI 50 for the fronts and Max PSI 51 for the rears.

I assume then I should inflate them to the max psi rating (cold) - correct?

Just seems really high but I have no experience with this kind of tire.

Thanks

Randy
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old Aug 7th, 12, 08:40 AM
Banned
Rob

Re: what is the correct tire PSI

Quote:
Originally Posted by il_randyb View Post
I am running modern 17" wheels with Firestone Firehawk Indy 500 tires. Sidewall says Max PSI 50 for the fronts and Max PSI 51 for the rears.

I assume then I should inflate them to the max psi rating (cold) - correct?

Just seems really high but I have no experience with this kind of tire.

Thanks

Randy
I believe the max pressure is used for full weight loading of the tires.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old Aug 7th, 12, 08:56 AM
DjD
Retired
Dennis

Garage

No don't inflate them to the max psi! The only time you might do that is if you were hauling bricks in the trunk and sand bags in the back seat. Cars come from the factory with a factory recomendation based on the wheels and tires it came with new. I'm only mentioning this because if you go look at your wifes daily driver you might see a factory recomendation of 32-35psi when the sidewall says 45psi max...

With custom wheels and tires you are kinda on your own to decide where you get the combination of best ride, best handling, best tire wear and best gas mileage. Having more psi will give you better gas mileage but will reduce handling and ride quality. Too low of psi will cause faster tire wear and even tire damage.