Difference btw Disc and Non Disc Wheels? - Team Camaro Tech
Wheels & Tires What fits what?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Oct 17th, 12, 08:55 PM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member
Charlie

Garage
Difference btw Disc and Non Disc Wheels?

Hey there,

I need to pick up a 14" rally wheel for my spare. My car came stock with front disc brakes and the rears have been converted to disc brakes as well. I see there are ads for disc and non disc brake wheels, but honestly what exactly is the (technical/visual) difference and can they be interchanged or can you only use a disc brake wheel on a disc brake car?

Thanks

Charlie
Edmonds, WA
1969 Camaro SS Vert LS1 T56
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old Oct 17th, 12, 09:27 PM
Senior Tech
Tim

Re: Difference btw Disc and Non Disc Wheels?

Charlie,
I'm not a wheel expert, so can't offer specific fitment advice, but the wheels made for factory disc brake applications had greater clearance to allow for the brake calipers. As your car has discs F&R, I'd suggest you would have clearance issues if you tried to use drum brake wheels.
There's a table on the CRG "Wheels" page here: http://www.camaros.org/suspen.shtml#Wheels that indicates which 14" Camaro wheel application codes were for disc brake cars. If you have aftermarket brakes, then try the manufacturer's tech line for advice - most specify minimum 15" wheels, but say that some 14" will fit. Wilwood (and others) offer templates to download, but that is more for checking if your current wheels will allow their big brake kits to fit.

1969 04A Van Nuys-built Z/28. Cortez Silver with dark blue interior and VE3. Sold Clippinger Chevrolet. Raced at Lions in LA.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old Oct 17th, 12, 10:34 PM
Senior Tech
John

It all has to do with wheel back spacing. Here is a good link that I pulled from the sticky at the top of this forum:

http://www.earlywheel.com/products.h...ng-information