Team Camaro Tech banner

Cooling system crud

2K views 13 replies 6 participants last post by  davidpozzi 
#1 ·
Hello all,

I have been having some problems with my 67 getting a little hot in traffic. I have a 180 degree thermostat in the 350 and it used to stay rock solid at 180 degrees no matter how hot it was outside. As I drive, the temp stays between 180 and 190 degrees, but when I come to a stop, the temp will slowly creep up until I get moving again. I thought my fan was the culprit, and replaced the original fan clutch. It was bad, as the new clutch moves tons more air. However, I still have the temp problem. I also replaced the thermostat this last weekend as a possible solution, but no fix. I did notice when I had the upper radiator hose off that there seems to be a whole lotta restrictive-looking whitish corrosion on the ends of the tubes in the radiator tanks that didn't used to be there. I think this may be causing my problems (at least I have no idea what else it could be since the cooling system used to work like a champ). What would be the best way to clean this gunk out? The radiator is in excellent shape otherwise, so I would like to try to clean it out before replacing it. Are there any chemical flushes or something that anyone has had good experience with? Also, what is the capacity of a small block cooling system? Thanks guys.

------------------
Justin Traunero
justin.traunero@furman.edu

-1967 Camaro SS350

http://156.143.134.136/default.htm

See less See more
#3 ·
I guess I'd try the radiator cleaner stuff.
It might clean some of it out. Make sure you flush it all out.
Make sure your fins aren't clogged with bugs too.
If you have a two row radiator, your days are numbered.
A four row full core should work well.
David

------------------
Check my web page for First Gen Camaro suspension info:
David's Motorsports page
First Gen Suspension Page
67 RS 327
69 Camaro Vintage Racer
65 Lola T-70 Chev 350
Can Am Vintage Racer

#4 ·
#5 ·